One born every minute!

I love this programme. Β It always makes me reminisce about my own babies births. I usually watch the programme with my legs crossed and screech along with the mothers giving birth, having major flashbacks to first borns birth and thinking it was possibly the one time in my life I thought I was going to die – and welcomed it 😜

I remember how I proudly told the consultant, before I went into labour, that I wanted a natural birth, no drugs, no intervention and I then remember when he came to see me in the delivery suite, I BEGGED him to hit me over the head with a shovel or wrap his stethoscope around my neck – tightly! 😳

After being nicely positioned for the past 4 weeks, first born had decided to twist around in a ridiculous position which made him bloody impossible to push out! Β I won’t bore you with the gory details but needless to say, after 27 hours, gas and air, pethidine, sick bowl and epidural I was taken in for an emergency cesarean – made me laugh quite hysterically when I was asked to sign the “just in case” consent form – drugged up to the eye balls I would have sold the child for a donkey and a bag of nice pegs 😳

In the theatre they decided to “try” and turn him around before attempting a cesarean – of course they had to cut me first to get the shovels around his head and drag him out ……..

And there he was – my beautiful “large” baby – with a cone shaped head, due to aforementioned forceps πŸ˜„

The plopped him on me, shoved my boob in his little rose bud mouth – before I could even ask for a cup of tea!

What a beauty he was – funny shaped head and all 😍😍

Funnily enough the other 3 births after him were like shelling peas – fast, natural and just as beautiful – not surprising – I probably had a fanny like a bucket after first born …….. 😜

 

10 thoughts on “One born every minute!

  1. Ha ha. I’m so scared of having another child because of all the nightmare stories I hear about long drawn out and painful labours. My daughter made a quick entrance – labour and entrance into the world took three hours no waters broken, she shot out fully in tact in the placenta. The worst part of the birth was being stitched up because I tore. I went from 3 mil -10 in 20 minutes! I don’t think I will be so lucky next time!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When I have seen my son for the very first time, he reminded me of a red spotty bug!!!
    Second one looked like a fat chinese sumu ringer (almost 10 pounds)
    I already have given up giving having beautiful looking newborns until nr. 4 and 5 arrived…
    Nr. 1 and 2 fortunately grew good looking

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

