S.A.T.S.

IMAG2817S.A.T.S. – Standard Attainment Tests ย (UK Education)

My eldest daughter is not 11 years old till August and along with her fellow Year 6 peers are facing possibly their hardest tests in their young little lives at the end of this month.

The pressure on these young pupils is immense and what for? ย They have already been accepted into their chosen Secondary Schools, the S.A.T.S have no bearing on their further education, inasmuch, they will be doing similar tests once ensconced into their Secondary Education.

These Easter holidays I’ve seen numerous parents fretting about their children doing these tests, on Facebook, various status’ saying how stressed their children are getting doing their revision.

Arowyn was off sick on the last day of school and as a consequence left all her revision books at School and do you know what, I’m so glad she did!

Holidays – yes, that’s what they are! ย Holidays for Primary School children to have fun – to play out with their friends, to relax with their families – not to spend two weeks doing heavy revision and getting worked up about their return to School and these tests.

As a consequence she may not score as highly as her peers but her mental health is much more important to me as her Mother.

She’s a good student, average in her academic abilities, all I expect from her is her best on the day.

Come September she will begin 5+ years of extensive study with homework targets to be met, end of year exams to be taken and eventually GCSE’s and A Levels and if she chooses, University.

She’s only 10 – let them be carefree children for a little longer.

18 thoughts on “S.A.T.S.

  1. Hmms, so I know basically nothing about the British schooling system, outside of the fact that magical 11 year olds eagerly await their letters for Hogwarts, but regular 11 year olds get to choose their secondary schools? They have to be accepted? Is it like a whole application process? If it is, that seems stressful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have 3 choices of schools – usually the catchment area you live in but you can apply for schools outside of that. It’s quite a competitive business if one school is deemed more successful – in those schools children may have to take an entrance exam but priority usually goes to others who live in that catchment area.

      I’ve known families up and move house to ensure a better chance for their children to get into certain schools!

      Arowyn got herself, and our first choice, which is a school in our area. I’m slightly biased as its the school her brothers went to and they both did well.

      I believe if a child wants to learn they will do well in almost any school here, but some parents are more selective about who their children mix with x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I had no idea! It’s kind of the same here in Korea, you apply to middle school and high school. But that happens closer to 13 or 15 I think. Well 13 or 15 Korean age (which is different from Canadian lol)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I like your take on your daughter’s school work. So many Moms fret and fume over their children, make them miserable. They worry so much that their children don’t learn to be responsible for themselves. That’s probably one of the most important lesson a child needs to learn.

    One of the differences in the early education my children had versus what I had was an emphasis on organization — journals and planners and calendars. I somewhat shrugged my shoulders at that, then see how much my daughter has benefitted from the habits she was taught as a preteen. Alyssa is no genious but she succeeds with discipline. I never have had to force her to study. She just does it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Completely agree. I also think they need to learn and take responsibility for themselves. I ask the girls if they have homework, if they say no – I accept that, but also stress that they will face consequences if its not done. It works so far although Arowyn has just discovered everything teenagerish and needs a firmer hand than Lana, who’s only interested in football and what colour boxer shorts she’s wearing the next day!

      I’ve always said, as a parent, we do our best – and hope for the best ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely Daisy and the worrying thing is that there are now so many cases of adolescents and young adults struggling with mental health issues. I’ve seen the despair in young adults trying to cope with studying and then employment and housing issues. I can be a cruel world out there already x

      Like

  3. That whole applying to a secondary school sounds tough enough. And then these tests on top of it?! Here in NJ, US, the kids take PARC tests in 3rd & 4th grades – about 8-10 years old. The teachers spend more time teaching the kids to test than they do just teaching the kids! My son is not there yet but I do not look forward to when he is. We have the opportunity to have the kids not take the tests but I don’t know all of the details of that, yet. I am secretly hoping that they do away with these tests before next year. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I am really glad to hear that her mental health is more important than her test scores! I am in total agreement on that. Good luck to her. And you. โค ox

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow that is young. American kids do them in HS. But then I’ve heard kids from other countries come out knowing more and are smarter in some ways. So maybe expecting more isn’t such a bad thing in the long run? I don’t know?? It makes US kids have great deficits in the real world when they come out….they don’t read well, they can’t do math, their critical thinking skills stink etc. But hey, they can party! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha! Party is good ๐Ÿ˜

      I’m not sure whether the education system here is better – we also have a lot of young adults leaving school with a sub-standard education. I guess it’s down to motivation, good teaching and the individual pupil.

      Both my sons went to the same school, my eldest had to work sooo hard to gain decent grades, my second son did nothing more than he had too and sailed through his exams. I guess time will tell with the girls and how they progress xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

