Easter eggs πŸ˜„

Hi all πŸ˜ƒ hope everyone is looking forward to the long weekend, celebrating whatever it is you chose to celebrate πŸ˜ƒ

Today dawned the school Easter Fete – always a great favourite with the kids. Β A chance for them to buy back all the stuff you donated on the quiet! Β A chance to have their faces painted so you need sandpaper to scrub it off! Β A chance to win an Easter Egg in the raffle – which 4th born managed to do – by hanging around the teacher pulling out the tickets – and drooling! Β And also the chance to enter the “Decorate an Easter Egg” competition Β – which basically means another chance for me to epically fail as a parent – because I refuse to participate 😳

Any of you who read my blog should know by now how crap I am in the arts and crafts department so this shouldn’t come as a big surprise πŸ˜„ but there is another reason and it’s basically to punish my children for a past mistake they made when they first started Primary School.

To be fair, they were only babies at 4 and 6 years old and they begged to decorate eggs for the competition. Β Now because I’m rather fond of the offspring I relented. Β We went to Hell – sorry Hobbycraft – and bought a cartload of arty crafty Easter things and set out to do the eggs.

Now I threw myself into this mission – and 4 bloody hours later and a dozen eggs later, because they kept cracking – the girls had decorated their eggs – with glitter, feathers, little fluffy chicks, sequins and anything else they could lay their little sticky fingers on!

The kitchen looked like Mr Maker had had a seizure – glitter everywhere, bits all over the floor, the apples in the fruit bowl were glued together – what a mess – but the end result was – well compared to others – pretty mediocre – but they had their eggs for the next day! 😊

I proudly placed the eggs in their little egg boxes all ready for the morning. Β I felt like a pretty awesome Mother. Β Yes, just like all the other dutiful Mothers who do these wonderful, time consuming activities with their darling children! πŸ˜€

I could hear the girls downstairs the next morning. Β I made my way downstairs and suddenly stopped in my tracks ……….. What was that awful smell???!  😳 It was a strong eggy smell …….

I ran into the kitchen to find the girls had started breakfast …..

They had decided to have hard boiled eggs – cold – they had shelled and were eating my creations …………… 😳

 

17 thoughts on “Easter eggs πŸ˜„

  1. hahahaah love your posts- you have an awesome sense of humour that conveys well in to the written word. I am not alone in being crap in doing artsy crafsty things. Just give me a wand and I can do magic. So much easier πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love knowing that my mothering skills are in good company. ❀ πŸ™‚
    Tomorrow is egg decorating day in our house. My mom is much more into doing it with her grandson than I am. BUT she gets mad when he doesn't do it her way. So, I'll be drinking by about 10:30am ET.
    Happy Easter!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

