The Caring Role

I work in the Care Sector, I have done for most of my adult life. Β I’m known as a kind, caring and compassionate person – I have to have those qualities to do my job as well as I do.

So why, oh why, do I leave that kind, caring and compassionate person at the door and become an absolute tyrant at home?

Oh don’t get me wrong, I’m kind to my children – but – they have to be really really ill first πŸ˜„

When it comes to adults I want to scream at them ” Ffs – you have a bastard cold – yes, you feel like shite, but take some paracetamol and get back to work”

You may have guessed I’ve had a bitch of a week with almost the whole household being ill with this flu/headache virus. Β I must confess I’ve been run ragged. Β Up and down the stairs during the daytime, being woken up during the night with vomiting children, children with little hot burning bodies climbing into my bed and crying with headache. Β Measuring out Calpol with sleep encrusted eyes and then Jeff begging for fresh water, like Lawrence of Arabia 😳

I’ve managed to hold it all together quite well. Β I learnt my lesson the hard way some years ago ……….

Jeff was doing a very good impression of someone dying of Cholera one morning. Β Me being my usual lovely self lost the plot and told him “Yes you have a cold, but sometimes you have to just get on with it!”

I packed his sandwiches and shoved him out the door …..

Later that evening 1st born came running up the stairs in a panic

“Mom, what’s wrong with Jeff – he can’t stand up!”

I gave a sigh and trotted down the stairs – and there was my poor husband struggling to breathe and falling about all over the place!

We rang for advice from the NHS Direct Line, whilst I’m telling her his symptoms she interrupted me and said “Is that him I can hear breathing beside you?” I confirmed that it was …..

“Get him to A&E immediately, phone for an ambulance if needed”

Well he ended up in Hospital for nearly a week really ill with Pneumonia 😳

I don’t know how on earth he managed to convince them he was really ill just to make me feel bad – I think he may have paid the doctor …………. πŸ˜„

23 thoughts on “The Caring Role

  1. Well I am one of those people who end up reverting to a toddler when they are sick so my mom would probably sympathize quite well with you πŸ˜€ But good job holding down the fort! The compassion doesn’t matter as long as your family is healthy again πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh this was a couple of years ago with Jeff in hospital – that’s why I try to be more sympathetic – doesn’t work a lot of the time – but I’m not so quick to shove him out the door like I used to πŸ˜„

      Like

  2. Just a hard Woking wife and mother,I worked in that profession for year and it’s only when you get home you realise how tired you are so don’t be too hard on yourself.love Joan xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

