Shutter Island πŸ˜„

Just to pre- warn – this is a Shutter Island spoiler – although the film is so bloody old now I would imagine anyone who wanted to see it would have seen it by now – and furthermore, if you haven’t seen it, this post will make no sense to you whatsoever 😜

When the film was first released my two sons took me to see it at the Cinema. Β What a twist at the end of the film …………….. 😳

The following day both boys had to go to work. Β At this time Christian, my eldest, was 18 and working full time at a Rehabilitation Unit for adults with brain injuries. Β Meanwhile Cam was 16, at College and working part-time on the bread counter in Tesco.

After the late night and a tiring day for them both they were arguing over who was going to make the tea.

“I’ve been at work all day, I’m not doing it” said Christian

“I’ve also been at work all day” said his brother indignantly

Christian looked pitifully at his younger brother and saidΒ “Cameron, I work in a Brain Injuries Unit, I assist people learning to walk again, I am trained in how to deal with violent patients, I potentially save lives. Β With all due respect, you work on a bread counter and fill up the shelves in Tesco”

Cam looked at his older brother, put his hand on his shoulder and repliedΒ “Chris, I think you really need to be told the truth now. Β When you go off to work, in your nurses uniform, carrying your little sandwich box – you haven’t got a job, you don’t really work there ……” πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

One nil to the younger brother I think πŸ˜„

 

24 thoughts on “Shutter Island πŸ˜„

      1. Leonardo DiCaprio plays the part of an investigating officer sent over to shutter island which is a facility for the criminally insane. He is looking for a missing patient and believes the drs are conducting experiments on patients. DiCaprio is already suffering from what he witnessed in the war (film is set in 1950’s) and also traumatised by the murder of his wife in a fire.

        The brilliant twist at the end is DiCaprio is in fact the missing patient, he murdered his wife after she drowned their children. The hospital play along with his delusion that he is there investigating the missing patient.

        I’ve probably missed out crucial parts but the film was brilliant – not sure it would be as good watching it again after knowing the end, but it would all make sense I guess and you would view the film looking at it from drs perspective.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Sorry , don’t know if you’re aware I’m not English , and sometimes I get a bit lost …so – do you meant they’re a bit too much and tire you , or did you mean they take after you in cleverness and humour ??? Thank you πŸ™‚

        Like

      2. The sun is great (although it’s not always “on” as people tend to think of Portugal , it can get pretty gray and soggy too) but I do envy your beautiful fields (which are only so on account of all the rain) – my neighbour’s chicken is always better than mine or something like that πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€

        Like

Leave a Reply

