When a child is born …….

Most woman have a sign that they are going into labour.Β  Their waters break, contractions start – not me – I just wail and weep before anything has even started πŸ™‚

With 1st born, I cried for about 5 hours after hearing Perry Como sing “For the Good Times” My Dad used to sing this in the pub all the bloody time after him and Mom had divorced.Β  I didn`t cry for that reason though, I cried cos he was the typical “pub singer” and as a teenagerΒ and it was always excruiciatingly embarrassing hearing him sing πŸ™‚

2nd born, I cried and cried because I just knew I wasn’t going to love him as much as 1st born – I did, of course πŸ™‚

3rd born, I had at home, and cried because I couldn’t finish hovering the stairs whilst in labour – bloody hell I`ve changed – now I cry if I have to do it!

And then onto 4th born – I cried and cried because I hadn’t finished my Christmas shopping and I just knew there would be no bloody turkeys left by the time I could gather myself together to venue out – again, I`ve changed as I wouldn`t give a hoot now if there was no turkeys left – means less cooking for me to do on Christmas Eve πŸ™‚

And so it came to pass that on this day, 8 years ago, a child was born.Β  There probably were a few shepherds pottering around but no Kings appeared on the doorstep – there was, however, an Angel in attendance x

The beauty of her birth was the fact, like 3rd born, she was born at home and I was able to bring her straight downstairs and hand to my Mom xx

IMG_1342.JPG

Happy Birthday to my beautiful banana xxxxxx

IMAG2624.jpgIMAG2828.jpg

17 thoughts on “When a child is born …….

    1. Morning 😊 tbh it was like having 2 sets of children – the boys were 11 and 13 when I had Arowyn and then Lana – big boys and little girls – I believe I’ve trained my son’s to be fantastic fathers one day – as teenagers they were dab hands at changing nappies 😁 x

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Happy birthday to your banana! You are one brave soul to give birth at home! I admire that! I am sure it was much more comforting to be at home. I am a big wimp and a big fan of drugs, so I opted for the hospital all 3 times Good thing I did because I had complications with all 3 and if I hadn’t been in the hospital I probably wouldn’t be here to type : ) So………where are you going to have #5?

    Like

    1. Aw thank you for banana birthday wishes 😁 x tbh I wouldn’t have opted for home birth with first born – had every drug ogoing with him – the other 3 were fast and problem free – I kept an open mind and had it been advised to go in during labour I would have gone – but yes having girls at home was wonderful 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. i loved the part where you mentioned that you brought her down the stairs straight to your mum. That must have been a moment!
    Happy birthday to the cutie pie πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. It was such a beautiful memory of handing her to my dear Mom, step-father, who was also in attendance, downstairs of course, couldn`t look me in the eye, after hearing me screaming the house down and cussing everything and everybody πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Birthday Banana. Yes, would of loved a home birth but we are in a flat so I’m sure the neighbours probably wouldn’t appreciate it! Might of been awkward the next time I took the bins out! X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha! 3rd born arrived on a hot summer’s day at lunchtime – windows were obviously open – Jeff went outside the next day and saw the neighbours from about 4 houses down “Lisa had the baby” he said, his chest puffing out proudly – “we know” they said “we shared every bloody contraction with her in the street” 😨😨

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

