Falling of a Pedestal πŸ˜œ

Every parent automatically qualifies for their very own Pedestal 😊

This pedestal is bestowed on them by their adorable offspring – and it’s fairly obvious why you are given this great honour. Β When a man becomes a Father he is automatically elevated to superhero status in his child’s eyes – greater than Superman, Batman, Spider-Man – not one of those heros can compare to a Father in his child’s eyes 😍 and similarly the Mother becomes the Angel, the Nurse, the Comforter, the Virgin Mary, so pure is she πŸ˜‡ in fact this one Mother is simply everything to their precious child and therefore both Mother and Father quite rightly can climb up on that pedestal – BUT BE WARNED – you will fall off at some point – because at some point your precious offspring will catch you out – will discover something you’ve said or done and Whhaaaaaay off your pedestal you fall – arse in the air 😳

Now if you’re lucky you may stay up there for many years. Β As a child grows – their acceptance of small mistakes you make can be easily overlooked. Β Take the fibs we tell about Father Christmas, the Easter Rabbit and the Tooth Fairy – our children accept these fibs – mainly because they get Christmas parcels, an Easter egg and money from the Tooth Fairy (incidentally 4th born is completely and utterly freaked out by the Tooth Fairy – tis a nightmare when she loses a tooth – she acts like Freddie Krugar is coming to collect her tooth) 😷

But whoa betide you getting caught out on something they didn’t gain anything for πŸ˜€

Now I think I stayed on my pedestal till 1st and 2nd born were in their very late teens – and I was completely to blame for my downfall.

Me and their father bloody loved theme parks, Alton Towers, Drayton Manor – we loved them, even had yearly passes. Β But what a complete waste of time these places are with small children πŸ˜€ I mean there’s only so many times you can go on the bloody teacup ride or up on the flying elephant ride and as for Thomas the Tank rides – i wanted to chew my ears off listening to that bloody tune over and over again. Β Well I’m sure you get my drift. Β We longed to go without the boys and go on the grown up rides πŸ˜„ so we plotted and schemed and shamefully dropped them off at school and went to Alton Towers without them knowing. Β We had a fantastic time and they never suspected a thing …………. Until I told them many years later ………. The look of shock, disappointment and sadness that showed on their 16 and 18 year old faces πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I wrongly assumed they would find it as amusing as me – I was wrong!

Down, Down, Down I slid from my pedestal but Imwas screeching with laughter as I fell πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ

I temporarily slid halfway down when I came home from a nightshift and caught 4th born eating a kitkat for breakfast πŸ˜‚ silly child tried to hide the kitkat on the radiator ……… I removed melting kitkat – gave her a good telling off, saying how it’s not good for her to be eating chocolate at 7.00 in the morning bla bla bla marched into the kitchen and shoved the whole melting kitkatΒ in my gob – ummmmm chocolate ❀️ I then Β turned to see a little shocked face, open mouthed staring at me, whilst I looked like Jabba the Hutt with chocolate dripping off my chin …………. 😱

i know it’s only a matter of time before I fall off again because I told 3rd born, when she was 6, that I danced with Michael Flatley in Riverdance – I didn’t tell her to impress her I only told her this because I wanted to switch off the Tweenies to watch Riverdance and the only way she would watch it was because I was in it 😳 she still believes me now ……… But this won’t last as she keeps asking me to do a show in her assembly at school ……….. Β πŸ‘―πŸ‘―πŸ‘―πŸ‘―πŸ‘―πŸ‘―πŸ‘―πŸ‘―πŸ‘―πŸ‘―πŸ‘―

Whheeeeeee, Whheeeeee down I go again 😳

8 thoughts on “Falling of a Pedestal πŸ˜œ

  1. I’ve only just found your blog & it has really made me laugh! My pedestal was toppled many years ago & is very much buried now, but I can still remember ( & feel) those shameful slides from grace!
    Keep on writing, I will be following you now. Thanks for brightening my eveningπŸ˜ƒ

    Like

Leave a Reply

